top of page
Search
  • popwavesmusicblog

Single Review: Creature of Habit by JoJo



"Creature of Habit" was briefly mentioned in this week's New Music Friday post. However, those that know me all know that I love JoJo. So it should come as no surprise that I have much more to say about "Creature of Habit!"


To say that JoJo is coming off of a busy 2020 would be an understatement. She released her fourth studio album Good To Know in May, Good to Know (Acoustic) in July, Good To Know (Deluxe) in August, and her Christmas album December Baby in October! After such a busy year, I thought that it would be a while before we heard from JoJo again. However, I was wrong. We heard JoJo again in March on the fifth season of Fox's hit TV show The Masked Singer! From note number 1, I knew that it was JoJo under the Black Swan mask. Week after week, she gave consistent performances of popular songs including my personal favorite performances of "In My Blood" and "Use Somebody!" As much as I wanted Jo to win, I'm still glad that she made it all the way to the finale and was runner-up! The day after JoJo's unmasking, she released her new song "Creature of Habit." "Creature of Habit" is sexy and sultry. It reminds me of a mix between her songs "In the Dark" and "So Bad." The video for the song also holds on to the sexy and sultry vibes of the lyrics and the meaning of the lyrics. The lyrics describe someone who is addicted to being in a relationship, even if they want something more. The video portrays it very well, especially the hypnotism scenes. I am also (as always) blown away by JoJo's vocal performance. In "Creature of Habit," she doesn't showcase her signature riffs and runs. However, she belts out at the end of the song that shows how versatile she is as a vocalist. It isn't clear if "Creature of Habit" is part of her new "capsule project" that comes out this fall or if it's a standalone single. Either way, as usual JoJo killed it on "Creature of Habit." I would give this single a 10/10. I was quite impressed with the production, lyricism, and quality of the vocals.


Stay tuned for more information on JoJo's capsule project! You'll hear about it here first!

10 views0 comments

댓글


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page